School Board Election

The Canutillo ISD Board of Trustees is comprised of seven community members who are elected at-large by the general public. Trustees provide service to the Canutillo community without financial compensation. They serve staggered four-year terms and elections are held biennially on the second Tuesday following the first Monday in November of even-numbered years. The elections of all Trustees are held in a joint election with state and county officers.

The Canutillo Independent School District will conduct school board trustee elections on November 6, 2018. The positions on the Board of Trustees to be elected are: 4 at-large positions.

Board of Trustees Candidate Information

Important Dates:

•    Candidate Forum: Monday, Oct. 8, 2018, 5:30 p.m. at Canutillo HS

•    Notice of Candidate Filing Period for Place on the Ballot
•    2018 Candidate Packet and Application for Place on the Ballot

Offices up for election in November 2016:
•    At-Large, currently held by Sergio Coronado (formerly Rachel Quintana)
•    At-Large, currently held by Stephanie Frietze
•    At-Large, currently held by Laure Searls
•    At-Large, currently held by Mary Yglesias

Resources for Candidates:
These forms must be submitted to complete your application to run for a position on the school board:
•    Application for a Place on the Ballot
•    Appointment of a Campaign Treasurer (CTA)
•    Texas Ethics Commission Forms and Instructions

Other resources:
•    Texas Secretary of State Election Forms
•    FAQ for Candidates
•    Become a Board Member: Resources for Board Candidates

Other Important Dates for Candidates:
•    30 Day Compliance Report Period closes September 27, report due October 9.
•    8 Day Compliance Report Period closes October 27, report due October 29.

Eligibility/Qualifications for Office:

•    Policy BBA (Legal)

Additional Information for Candidates:
•    Texas Secretary of State Elections Division
•    Texas Ethics Commission
•    El Paso County Elections Office
•    TASB Preparing for Service
•    Elections Policy

Voter Information 

To the Registered Voters of Canutillo, Texas
Notice is hereby given that the polling places listed below will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. on Tuesday, November 6, 2018, for voting in a General Election, to elect 4 (four) School Board Members at Large (three positions are a 4-year term, one position is a 2-year term).

•    October 9 Last day to register to vote.

October 22, 2018 - November 2, 2018

Canutillo ISD Administrating Facility
7965 Artcraft Rd.
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

EPCC-Northwest Campus
6701 S. Desert Blvd.
9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
*CLOSED Oct. 28, 2018

El Paso County Northwest Annex
435 E. Vinton Rd.
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
*Oct. 29 to Nov. 2, 2018
8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.

Early Voting Mobile Location:
Monday, Oct. 22, 2018 ONLY
Canutillo Nutrition Center
7351 Bosque Rd.
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

•    List of Polling Places for Early Voting

On Election Day, voters must vote in their precinct where registered to vote.


Precinct 2
El Paso County Northwest Annex
435 E. Vinton Rd.
Anthony, TX 79821

Precinct 3
Canutillo Middle School
7311 Bosque Rd.
Canutillo, TX 79835

Precinct 4
Canutillo Elementary School
651 Canutillo Ave.
Canutillo, TX 79835

Precinct 5
Fire Station #2
111 E. Borderland Rd.
El Paso, TX 79904

Precinct 11
Brown Middle School
7820 Helen of Troy Dr.
El Paso, TX 79912

Precinct 12
Con. Sylvestre & Carolina Reyes Elementary School
7440 Northern Pass
El Paso, TX 79911

Below are the candidates for the three full-term positions in the order they will appear on the ballot.

Christian Corrales
Mago Arellano
Mary Yglesias
Gustavo Vasquez
L. John Porras
Laure Searls
Billie Ramos-Rickner
Salvador Payan

Below are the candidates for the unexpired term position in the order they will appear on the ballot.

Alfonso L. Flores Jr.
Sergio Coronado

For additional information or questions regarding the application process, contact Liza Rodriguez at (915) 877-7481 or check the Secretary of State and Texas Ethics Commission Websites listed above.