Head of the Class
Canutillo ISD Unveils District Teachers of the Year
Posted on 04/14/2022
This is the image for the news article titled Canutillo ISD Unveils District Teachers of the YearExcitement filled the air as a procession of teachers, administrators, trustees and Canutillo Independent School District officials stopped by both Congressman Silvestre and Carolina Reyes Elementary School (RES) and Canutillo Middle School STEAM Academy (CMS) campuses bearing gifts to surprise two teachers with the announcement that they have been selected District Teachers of the Year.

Alma Ramos, a third-grade teacher at RES was selected Elementary Teacher of the Year, and Hector Juarez, an eighth-grade science teacher at CMS, Secondary Teacher of the Year for the District.

“It is always exciting when we get a chance to honor our teachers and showcase their talent, commitment, innovation, and passion with others,” said Canutillo ISD Superintendent of Schools Dr. Pedro Galaviz. “We have top teachers in our District who go above and beyond for the success of our students. Ms. Ramos and Mr. Juarez are prime examples of teachers who not only invest in their student's academic success but their emotional and social wellbeing as well, which is critical during these times.”

Both teachers were selected for their dedication and commitment to their profession, effective instruction along with their ability to inspire engagement and learning in their students.

Ramos and Juarez will represent Canutillo ISD at the Region 19 Elementary and Secondary Teacher of the Year Contest later this summer with the possibility to make it to the state level to vie for Texas Teacher of the Year.

Congratulations to Ms. Ramos and Mr. Juarez along with all Canutillo ISD top campus teachers for 2022-23.

Campus Teachers of the Year include:
Luz Barraza - Canutillo Elementary
Jessie Luna - Bill Childress Elementary
Ana Caballero - Jose Damian Elementary
Miriam P. Uribe - Deanna Davenport Elementary
Deborah Coppenbarger - Gonzalo and Sofia Garcia Elementary
Lauren Harrison - Jose J. Alderete Middle School
Christina Anguiano - Canutillo High School
Miguel Martinez - Northwest Early College High School